License Requirements 2018-03-23T17:51:11+00:00

License Requirements

Check Your DPOR Credit
Salesperson’s License Requirements To obtain a Virginia real estate salesperson’s license you must:
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have a high school diploma or the equivalent
  • If licensed in another state, be in good standing in any state where licensed.
  • Have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing. Be competent to transact real estate business in such a manner as to safeguard the public interest.
  • Not have been found guilty of violating the fair housing laws of any jurisdiction.
  • Meet the current educational requirements** (listed below) by achieving a passing grade in all required courses before sitting for the licensing exam.
  • Pass a written license examination approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board.
  • Not have had a real estate license revoked or suspended in any state.
  • Not have been convicted anywhere for a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury or any felony.
Current Virginia Education License Requirements The Virginia Real Estate Board currently requires anyone wishing to obtain a real estate license to complete, with a passing grade, a State approved 60 hour course called “The Principles of Real Estate.” This course covers the principles and practices of real estate, as well as Virginia real estate law.
Click here to Register for the Online Principles of Real Estate Course
New salespersons may complete the eight courses (30 hours) here at The Richmond Association of REALTORS®. We provide all the credits needed by the 1st anniversary of licensure. The new PLE curriculum consists of eight courses, approved for a specific number of hours as follows:
  • 6 Hours Contract Writing
  • 2 Hours Current Industry Trends
  • 3 Hours Escrow Requirements
  • 3 Hours Ethics/Standards of Conduct
  • 2 Hours Fair Housing
  • 8 Hours Real Estate Law
  • 3 Hours Risk Management
  • 3 Hours VA Agency Law
Click here for the 2018 PLE Bundle for New Agents

 

If you have any questions or concerns about this new requirement, please contact the Richmond Association of REALTORS Education Department at 804.422.5000.

As a salesperson, you must complete 16 hours of Continuing Education (CE) credit to renew your license every two years. Eight (8) of the sixteen (16) hours must be in these mandatory topics:
  • Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 Hours Minimum)
  • Fair Housing (2 Hours Minimum)
  • Legal Updates (1 Hours Minimum)
  • Real Estate Agency (1 Hours Minimum)
  • Real Estate Contracts (1 Hours Minimum)
  • Real Estate Related Subjects (8 Hours Minimum)-the remaining 8 hours may be any topic of interest to you that carries Continuing Education (CE) credit.
Register for an upcoming eight (8) or sixteen (16) hour Continuing Education Course.
To obtain a Virginia real estate Broker license you must:
  • Actively engaged as a Real Estate licensee for at least 40 hours per week during the 36 of the 48 months immediately preceding licensure application.
  • Must have a high school diploma or the equivalent.
  • If licensed in another state, be in good standing in any state where licensed.
  • Have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing. Be competent to transact real estate business in such a manner as to safeguard the public interest.
  • Not have been found guilty of violating the fair housing laws of any jurisdiction.
  • Meet the current educational requirements** (listed below) by achieving a passing grade in all required courses before sitting for the licensing exam.
  • Pass a written license examination approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board.
  • Not have had a real estate license revoked or suspended in any state.
  • Not have been convicted anywhere for a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, physical injury or any felony.

Current Virginia Education Broker License Requirements The Virginia Real Estate Board currently requires anyone wishing to obtain a real estate broker license to successfully complete a total of 180 hours of board approved courses inclusive of Real Estate Brokerage, Real Estate Appraisal, Real Estate Finance and Real Estate Law.

2018 Broker Pre-Licensure Fast Track

All licensees holding a broker’s license of any type must complete twenty four (24) hours of Broker Continuing Education every two years. The 24 hours are broken down as follows:
  • Broker Management & Agent Supervision (8 Hours Minimum)
  • Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 Hours Minimum)
  • Fair Housing (2 Hours Minimum)
  • Legal Updates (1 Hours Minimum)
  • Real Estate Agency (1 Hours Minimum)
  • Real Estate Contracts (1 Hours Minimum)
  • Real Estate Related Subjects (8 Hours Minimum)- these hours may be any topic of interest to you that carries Continuing Education (CE) credit.

To fulfill the 24 hour CE requirement, Brokers can take the 16-hour Continuing Education and the 8-hour Broker Continuing Education courses.